A Finished Quilt!

a quick update … the quilt for my granddaughter is finished (will make a tag tomorrow)!
in time for trip to see her and I can’t wait to give it to her…

Quick summary in pictures… to the finished quilt…

LOTS OF DECISIONS: black & white + green (favorite color), notes, cliff signs, music sheet,, need more material, look for a piano key border, and more decisions before starting the quilt!

LOTS OF DECISIONS: black & white + green (favorite color), notes, cliff signs, music sheet,, need more material, look for a piano key border, and more decisions before starting the quilt!

cropped-quilt-ready-for-border-feb-2013-vh-2.jpg

Decision time! this does not work, will need to quilt not tie.

Decision time! this does not work, will need to quilt not tie.

My first quilt done by free motion quilting using my regular and small sewing machine.

My first quilt done by free motion quilting using my regular and small sewing machine.

Free Motion quilting

Free Motion quilting

free motion quilting viewed on back of quilt

free motion quilting viewed on back of quilt

black and piano keys borders ready to be quilted

black and piano keys borders ready to be quilted

Binding ready to be hand sewn.

Binding ready to be hand sewn.

“MUSIC FOR MERALIE”

What a fabulous feeling to have the quilt finished and in time for our trip to see our granddaughter! Cannot wait to give it to her.

What a fabulous feeling to have the quilt finished and in time for our trip to see our granddaughter! Cannot wait to give it to her.

About varietyplus

I'm 68 living with husband in the northwest since 2006; have lived in Ohio, Washington, DC, Virginia, Mississippi, and now Washington state. Have two grown sons, two daughters-in-law, and one grandchild. My hobbies are knitting, quilting, sewing, scrap-booking, and more. Love to travel via train. Learning to set up blog site (slow process) and want to blog more often on a variety of thoughts and interests. I try to smile often and look at everything in a positive way.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Finished Quilt, Free Motion Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Finished Quilt!

  1. Espirational says:

    Love that! The keyboard border is great!

  2. What a great musical quilt! You certainly are doing good for being new at this blogging!

  3. Ellie says:

    Is there a pattern for this quilt?

    • varietyplus says:

      Hi Ellie,
      No pattern was used. I just searched for various music related materials and then decided how I would make and place the blocks after I knew what fabric I had.
      I started off by hand drawing the notes, and I appliqued each. I tried to make the notes an oval more than a perfect circle as I felt they look better. I think I downloaded a couple pictures of notes from online coloring book to help me decide what I preferred.
      The block with the sheet music is a section cut-out from a large piece of material with LOTS of music sheets. I had to find a square that showed the whole page of music as most were covered with other sheets. Hope that makes since. Maybe you could find the music sheet material by searching for such. I’m not sure where I found it, but it was online (maybe eQuilter or fabric.com ).
      I also found the piano keys material online also. I really had to search a long time.
      If any other questions, please reply. Wish you luck and hope to see another music quilt.

Leave a Reply

