Quilt gift!

quilt_Music for Meralie_twin size_2-2013 framed-tagged

quilt TAG_MUSIC for MERALIE_2-2013

I finally gave the quilt to Meralie! So very happy to see her surprise when she arrived home from school to find her special quilt on her bed!
Yes, she was very surprised and was speechless for a few seconds as it was a complete surprise for her. Then she squealed with excitement. She immediately feel onto the bed and wanted to hug the whole quilt! After wrapping herself in it and hugging it again, she started asking me questions about how I made it.

She loved the design and the color. Did I say she loves lime green!

I am so happy to give this quilt to her and to see her so very happy.

About varietyplus

I'm 68 living with husband in the northwest since 2006; have lived in Ohio, Washington, DC, Virginia, Mississippi, and now Washington state. Have two grown sons, two daughters-in-law, and one grandchild. My hobbies are knitting, quilting, sewing, scrap-booking, and more. Love to travel via train. Learning to set up blog site (slow process) and want to blog more often on a variety of thoughts and interests. I try to smile often and look at everything in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Finished Quilt, Free Motion Quilting, Gift and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quilt gift!

  1. Becky goodson says:

    Love your “Music for Meralie” quilt. How did you do the musical instrument and the page of music squares? I am trying to make a music quilt for my daughter before she goes off to college in the fall.

    • varietyplus says:

      thank you for your response for my special quilt and sorry for taking to long to respond.
      The notes were just hand drawn, and I appliqued each on… I tried to make the notes a little oval more than a perfect circle as they look better. I think I downloaded a couple pictures, such as from online coloring book, to get some ideas of what I liked.
      As for the music square, that came from a fabric that was covered with over-lapping sheet music… I just had to find a complete sheet and then cut that out and appliqued it to a block. Out of the yard of fabric that I had I could only find 2-4 complete sheets to cut out, but as you can see, I only needed one.
      Have fun and good luck on your quilt for your daughter… or have you finished one yet? Would love to hear.

    • varietyplus says:

      Becky,
      Thanks for your comment, sorry it’s taken me this long to read and reply to your comment.
      The page of music square is a section cut-out from a large piece of material with LOTS of music sheets. I had to find a square that showed the whole page of music as most were covered with other sheets. Hope that makes since. Maybe you could find the music sheet material by searching for such. I’m not sure where I found it, but it was online (maybe eQuilter or fabric.com ).
      Good luck and hope to see a finished Music quilt from you.

      • Sheria says:

        LOVE your “Music for Meralie” quilt. And totally love the black/white and green music theme. I don’t think my brother would like the green so much. Making it for him for Christmas. He loves his music too.
        Well I wanted to “Thank you” for posting fabric.com. Is that where you got the piano keys from? I did find some piano keys I will use, I think for now. I’m trying to figure out how I want mine to be arranged. It does take time and patience. Again, THANK YOU so much!!

      • varietyplus says:

        Might have got some of the material from another site: http://www.eQuilter.com
        Lots of planning and trial and error and patience but so much fun to make.

  2. Diane says:

    I want to make a music themed quilt for my daughter, so I’m collecting fabrics now. This is indeed a vibrant happy quilt. Thanks so much for the inspiration

    • varietyplus says:

      Hi Ellie,
      No pattern was used. I just searched for various music related materials and then decided how I would make and place the blocks after I knew what fabric I had.
      I started off by hand drawing the notes, and I appliqued each. I tried to make the notes an oval more than a perfect circle as I felt they look better. I think I downloaded a couple pictures of notes from online coloring book to help me decide what I preferred.
      The block with the sheet music is a section cut-out from a large piece of material with LOTS of music sheets. I had to find a square that showed the whole page of music as most were covered with other sheets. Hope that makes since. Maybe you could find the music sheet material by searching for such. I’m not sure where I found it, but it was online (maybe eQuilter or fabric.com ).
      I also found the piano keys material online also. I really had to search a long time.
      If any other questions, please reply. Wish you luck and hope to see another music quilt.

  3. BJ says:

    Do you have a pattern for the lone green, black and white quilt you made for Merilee? I love it!!

Leave a Reply

